Trumpet Awards Foundation Announces the 22nd Annual Trumpet Awards with Hosts Melissa De Sousa and Laz Alonso

Ceremony Takes Place in Atlanta, Saturday, January 25th at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre

The Trumpet Awards Foundation presents the 22nd Annual Trumpet Awards, a milestone feat that pays tribute to a group of history-making honorees who are slated to receive the 2014 esteemed Trumpet Award. The honorees join a list of some of the most celebrated personalities in this nation and abroad. The 22nd Annual Trumpet Awards black-tie ceremony will be hosted by Melissa De Sousa, known for her performances in The Best Man, The Best Man Holiday, and The Ron Clark Story; and Laz Alonso, known for his starring performances in Fast and the Furious, Jump the Broom, and is soon to be seen in a lead role in Sony Screen Gems’ Battle of the Year.  The Trumpet Awards show will be held at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta on Saturday, January 25, 2014, with the Red Carpet at 2:00 p.m. and the Awards Show taping at 4:00 p.m.

Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff – Award Winning Producers/Songwriters


The weekend of events and activities, held at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in downtown Atlanta, begin on Thursday, January 23 with the Prayer Breakfast, scheduled for 8:30 a.m.; High Tea with High Heels,    scheduled at 12:30 p.m. and the Race Relations Symposium scheduled at 6:00 p.m. An induction of ten new footprints will be placed into the International Civil Rights Walk of Fame. This induction ceremony is scheduled for Friday, January 24, 2014 at 10:00 a.m. at the Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site, National Park Service, located at 450 Auburn Avenue (Atlanta, GA)The program preceding the induction ceremony will be held at Ebenezer Baptist Church.


Kamala Harris, Attorney General of California

The Annual Trumpet Awards was created to celebrate and honor African American achievers and those who support the African American experience. The Awards honor accomplishments in diverse fields including law, medicine, business, politics, the Arts, civil rights, sports, entrepreneurship, entertainment and other careers.

The following is a partial list of the 2014 TRUMPET AWARDS honorees:

  • DeVon Franklin – Senior Vice President of Columbia Tristar Pictures
  • The Honorable Kamala Harris – Attorney General of California
  • Deryl & Cheryl McKissack – President and CEO McKissack & McKissack
  • Charles J. Ogletree, Jr. – Professor, Harvard Law School
  • Steve Pemberton – Vice President, Chief Diversity Officer of Walgreens
  • Alfre Woodard – Actress
  • Bronner Brothers / Bronner Brothers Hair Products – Entrepreneurs
  • Williams Sisters – Entrepreneurs
  • Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff – Award Winning Producers/Songwriters

The Trumpet Awards was conceived, founded, and nurtured by Xernona Clayton, who has built the Awards and Awards Foundation into a prestigious testimonial around the world. “We have come so far since we started this project in 1993 and I am extremely obliged to those individuals who saw the vision and who have worked with us for nearly twenty years.  We have now joined the global community and are most jubilant to bring this event to the world and to celebrate the achievements of those who had an impact on our society,” says Ms. Clayton.


Exit mobile version