Services Set to Honor the Life of Community Leader Michael Langford

Services Set to Honor the Life of Community Leader Michael Langford

 The community is honoring Michael Langford with a series of events celebrating his life and legacy following his passing. A community leader, he was the United Youth Adult Conference president and served on the Atlanta Children’s Memorial Taskforce and the Anti-Violence Advisory Council.

A candlelight ceremony honoring his life will be held Sunday, Nov. 28 at 4 p.m. at the Arthur Langford Jr. Skate Park, 1614 Arthur Langford Jr. Place SW.

A public viewing will be held Tuesday, Nov. 30 from noon-8 p.m. at Willie A. Watkins Funeral Home, 1003 Ralph David Abernathy Boulevard.

Celebration of life services will be held Wednesday, Dec. 1 at noon at West Hunter Street Baptist Church, 1040 Ralph David Abernathy Boulevard.

He will be interred at Lincoln Cemetery, 2275 Joseph E. Boone Boulevard NW.

Condolences may be sent to the Langford Family at 260 Taft Street, Atlanta, Ga. 30315.

In lieu of flowers, contributions should be made to Diversified Resolutions, 1718 Fairburn Road SW Atlanta, Ga. 30331, Memo – United Youth Adult Conference Programs.

For more information, contact Vanessa Manley at (404) 702-9260.

About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

Exit mobile version