Atlanta City Council Member Byron Amos Elected to Two Key Positions within the National League of Cities

Atlanta City Council Member Byron Amos Elected to Two Key Positions within the National League of Cities

 District 3 Council member Byron Amos was recently elected to two key positions within the National League of Cities, or NLC, at the 2022 City Summit Conference in Kansas City, Missouri.

As a first year Council member, he was elected to serve on the organization’s governing board of directors. He will also serve as the Region 16 Regional Director for the National Black Caucus of Local Elected Officials. With his election to the board of directors, Council member Amos will play a pivotal role in welcoming local elected leaders from across the nation to Atlanta for the 2023 City Summit Conference.

NLC serves as a resource for the more than 19,000 cities, villages, and towns across the country. Formed in 1924, it plays a prominent role in helping shape public policy and works in partnership with 49 state municipal leagues with the aim of improving the public’s quality of life.

About Atlanta City Council

The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the Council’s consideration.

The Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Doug Shipman; District 1: Jason Winston; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Byron Amos; District 4: Jason S. Dozier; District 5: Liliana Bakhtiari; District 6: Alex Wan; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: Mary Norwood; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Antonio Lewis; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Keisha Sean Waites.

Exit mobile version