Connect with us


Atlanta City Council Hosts the Atlanta Commission on Women TODAY, May 14

Portrait of young African businesswoman in the office looking at camera.
As an organization dedicated to women in Atlanta, we study to address and affect educational needs of and opportunities for women, social security and tax laws as they affect women, women’s health issues, political, legal, civil, property, and social rights of women employment policies in the public and private sector and their impact on the wage earning capacity of women, child care issues, domestic violence and public safety, employee and wage equity, traditional public housing, equity in recreation and sports services, aging issues, and then some.
Given the wide range of topics, needs and solutions to explore, we conducted a survey of 100 key stakeholders and decided to focus our efforts on three strategic priorities.
  1. Financial literacy for women: Increase the City of Atlanta’s participation in financial literacy programming toward increasing financial security for women.
  2. Financial sustainability — peer champions: Create easy, popular access for the girls and women of Atlanta have to the narratives of peer champions who model the “success story” of financial sustainability.

Legislative review related to women’s financial security: assure that City of Atlanta legislation, at minimum, does not negatively impact women’s ability to become financially secure, and at most actively promotes their financial security and mobility.

WHO:  Atlanta City Council

 WHAT: Atlanta Commission on Women meeting

WHEN: Tuesday, May 14 at 6:30 p.m.

WHERE: Atlanta City Hall, 55 Trinity Ave. SW

BACKGROUND: Atlanta City Council will host the next Atlanta Commission on Women meeting of 2024 on Tuesday, May 14, at 6:30 p.m.

In 2000, the Atlanta City Council approved legislation authored by former City Council members C.T. Martin and “Able” Mable Thomas to establish the Atlanta Commission on Women to create its membership, address the needs of women as it relates to education, health, insurance, employment salaries, and other related issues.

The current members of the Atlanta Commission on Women appointed by each district Council members are as follows:

District 1: Meredith Y. Lilly, Esq. (State Director for U.S. Senator Reverend Raphael Warnock)

District 2: Jan Bryson (Chairwoman, BenchMark Management)

District 3: Anissa Ferrell – President (Assessment Program Coordinator, Pearson)

District 4: Luretia “Dany” Craig (Associate Broker, Keller Knapp Real Estate)

District 5: Angerla Fusaro (Co-Founder and CEO, Physician 360)

District 6: Ashley Keyes (Executive Chef, C.H.O.I.C.E.S)

District 7: Kandice Allen Mitchell (Vice President of State and Local Government Affairs, Ohio River South)

District 9: Jo Anna Powell (Program Assistant, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)

District 10: Kajara Anderson (Legislative and Research Policy Manager Director- Atlanta Department of Transportation)

District 11: Maeryia Williams (Delta Airlines, Lead Auditor in Production Control, D234)

Post 1 At-Large: Qri Montague (Employment Specialist, Good Will of North Georgia)

Post 2 At-Large: Audra Luke, J.D. (Community Partnership Coordinator, Wholistic Stress Control Institute Inc.

Post 3 At-Large: Annette Abernathy (President and CEO of the Ralph David Abernathy, III Foundation)

CCN President: Karli Swift (General Counsel, BlocPower)


About Atlanta City Council

The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has the final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Doug Shipman; District 1: Jason Winston; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Byron Amos; District 4: Jason S. Dozier; District 5: Liliana Bakhtiari; District 6: Alex Wan; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: Mary Norwood; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Antonio Lewis; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: VACANT.

Newsletter Signup

Join our email list to stay connected.

Written By



Newsletter Signup

Join our email list to stay connected.

©2019 Atlanta Tribune: The Magazine

Newsletter Signup

Join our email list to stay connected.

Verified by MonsterInsights