Connect with us


Atlanta City Council Member Mary Norwood Introduces Legislation Establishing a Transportation Task Force to Address District 8 Traffic Congestion

On April 15, District 8 Atlanta City Council Member Mary Norwood introduced legislation to create a Transportation Task Force to address District 8 traffic congestion. This Task Force will consist of a representative from every District 8 Neighborhood; NPU’s; business associations; community non-profits; park conservancies; as well as three City of Atlanta Departments: Transportation, City Planning, and Parks and Recreation.

The Task Force, if passed by the City Council’s Transportation Committee on April 24th, and the Full City Council on May 9th, will commence on May 28th.

The Task Force member organizations making appointments are:

  1. City Councilmember from District 8 or a designee
  2. A Neighborhood Representative from each District 8 Neighborhood
  3. Buckhead Council of Neighborhoods representative
  4. Buckhead Coalition representative
  5. Buckhead Community Improvement District (BCID) representative
  6. Buckhead Heritage representative
  7. Atlanta History Center representative
  8. Chastain Park Conservancy representative
  9. Atlanta Memorial Park Conservancy representative
  10. Buckhead Business Association representative
  11. NPU-A representative
  12. NPU-B representative
  13. NPU-C representative
  14. Atlanta Department of Transportation representative
  15. Atlanta Department of Parks and Recreation representative
  16. Atlanta Department of Planning representative
  17. PATH Foundation representative
  18. Livable Buckhead representative

“I look forward to working with everyone to ameliorate District 8’s traffic congestion and to increase our District’s safety and mobility” said Council Member Norwood.

About Atlanta City Council


The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Doug Shipman; District 1: Jason Winston; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Byron Amos; District 4: Jason S. Dozier; District 5: Liliana Bakhtiari; District 6: Alex Wan; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: Mary Norwood; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Antonio Lewis; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: VACANT.

Newsletter Signup

Join our email list to stay connected.

Written By



Newsletter Signup

Join our email list to stay connected.

©2019 Atlanta Tribune: The Magazine

Newsletter Signup

Join our email list to stay connected.

Verified by MonsterInsights